Endorphins, Schmendorphins…

2 Jul

…or so I thought, back in the days when I considered “working out” to mean my walk around the park that happened precisely two occasions per year.

I remember watching Legally Blonde for the first time, when Elle Woods arrives at her defense logic by means of endorphins (“Happy people just don’t commit murder!”), and thinking – how can exercise make anyone happy?  All I feel before, during, and post-exercise is blah, dread, pain, and excruciating are-we-done-yet syndrome – those people are just insane if they look forward to this torture!

Well, things have changed, people.  Today, as I pondered the deep blue of the sky and practically smiled my way home from the gym, it occurred to me that I do indeed like working out.  Somehow, in the time since last year’s New Year’s resolution to work out more, I have not only kept my resolve but begun to enjoy it.  

I’ve come a long way from those ancient days before I got my Ipod (January, 2008).  Back then, music was my only motivation.  I must have been a sight to behold, balancing my annoying, skiptastic CD player in the palm of my hand as I cruised past the elderly on the civic center track (seven times around = one mile).  The concept of going to an actual gym was both foreign and intimidating.  Work out, in front of people?  No.  

Now, I go to yoga classes – with three walls of mirrors – as often as my schedule allows.  I lift weights, run, row, and do the elliptical machine.  I’m getting better at holding my planks – both regular and side variations (yay!).  

The best part?  It’s paying off, physically and mentally.  Combined with my newfound love of eating well (Good riddance forever, chipotle bleu-cheese bacon burger from Chili’s), my body feels – and looks – better than ever.  When I can’t work out for a few days, I actually miss it now.  Go figure.  Let this be encouragement for those of you who still consider endorphins to be creatures of myth – a little discipline goes a long way, and eventually, it will get better.

One Response to “Endorphins, Schmendorphins…”

  1. Kimberly Friday / 3 July 09 at 1:54 am #

    haha I totalllllly agree! I love the gym! Not only do I like how it makes me feel, but I LOVE people watching. Good times. 🙂

Leave a Reply

