Ouch.

8 Jul

Twenty-minute workout DVD.  Beginner level.  Two days in a row.

Thanks to you, Jillian Michaels, now I can hardly walk up – or down – the stairs.  

I didn’t know what I was getting into when I purchased Thirty Day Shred at Target.  Let me just say this: I love it.  I really do.  It’s just…a little surprising that I feel so much pain from twenty minutes, especially since I’ve been working out consistently for a while.  

If you read my last post, you know I started my second draft this week.  So far, it’s going great, and today has already been productive.  Since this project requires much time and focus, I thought it wise to come up with a home-based workout. Back in November, I signed up for the new gym in town.  They said construction would end in December, so I started going to the one twenty minutes down the road.  It’s now July, and it’s still not done.  (LAME.)  So, I always try to make the drive worth my time.  Usually, I do some combo of weights and cardio, except on yoga days.  As a result, it takes about an hour and forty minutes of my day, including the drive.

An hour and forty minutes is valuable time, as anyone who does anything is well aware.  Add in my mane of curls – clean hair means an additional half hour.  An alternate means of working out is necessary if I truly want to focus on my second draft.  I bought Jillian Michaels’ workout, even though I was hesitant to substitute twenty minutes for my usual hour of activity.

Little did I know that these twenty minutes would make me feel so sore.  I can’t believe I’m only on level one, out of three.  I’m pleased to know I won’t be getting out of shape while I focus on my writing.  So, for all you busy people out there – this workout is great.  Just be warned that you will feel it the next day.

6 Responses to “Ouch.”

  1. kimmi Wednesday / 8 July 09 at 1:13 pm #

    hehe i love work out videos! My favorite is called “the firm” doesn’t it just sound wicked cool?

    • owlandsparrow Wednesday / 8 July 09 at 8:42 pm #

      Haha, that does sound both wicked and cool. I bet my body would loooove that one…. 🙂

  2. amylynnp Wednesday / 8 July 09 at 10:04 pm #

    Thanks for the comment on my blog! I just finished up my 3rd day, and I forced my husband to do it with me. I wanted him to understand my misery, although I think he would need to do a few days in a row to truly understand. I am so sore too! Going up and down the steps is torture…even just trying to get onto the toilet is painful! I have high hopes for some serious toning, though, if I can just stick with it. We’ll have to check in on each other to see how we do 🙂

    • owlandsparrow Thursday / 9 July 09 at 9:07 am #

      Thanks for writing back! I am not as sore today – I think it’s because I added a LOT of stretching after Day 3. My husband is going to try it with me tonight! He got home as I was doing the final circuit of cardio the other day, and laughed at me 🙂 He said the whole set-up (non-stop movement, and how she does lunges during strength training, etc.) sounds hard and he wants to try it with me. We’ll see how that goes, he’ll probably not be as sore as I’ve been. Good luck with Day 4!

  3. nasdaqdiva Thursday / 9 July 09 at 7:29 am #

    Keep up the great work! I’ve had the Shred for months now, and I’m just now starting to take it seriously.

    • owlandsparrow Thursday / 9 July 09 at 9:10 am #

      Hey, thanks for the encouragement! I’m glad you’re doing the Shred now, too – I guess it doesn’t matter how long you’ve had it, as long as you eventually use it, right? 🙂 We are only starting Day 4 – going to try to stick it out for the full 30. How far into it are you?

Leave a Reply

