So Many Posts Start With S.

9 Sep

Just something I noticed.  I even told myself last night, when I wrote my latest post, that I could not start the title with an S.  

And look what I did: I wrote about sincerity.  Now, even in my writing about starting titles with the letter S, I’ve gone and done it again.  

It would be a little silly, I think, to tease you into a post and just stop right there.  Who wants to visit someone’s blog only to read about rogue S’s that sneak their way into everything?  Here’s some other stuff to make this worth your time.  

Writing is going well today!  Though my time is not abundant, I’m making the most of it and I really like what I got accomplished so far on the novel this morning.  This is a feat in and of itself, since it’s the first I’ve written on it since last Thursday, due to our weekend trip.  Fortunately, I left off in a good spot, a place where it was easy to slip back into the scene and pick it back up.  I love when that happens.

Plus, I woke up sore – in a good way – because I spent some much-needed time at the gym yesterday.  Long weekends are fun, for sure, but for some reason I always crave a treadmill at the end of them.  I’m thinking the barbecue and the sweet-roll-stocked breakfasts had a little something to do with that craving, as did my tendency to feel sluggish after eight-hour car rides.

This week is looking like a busy one, but if the writing and the workouts go anything like the past two days, it will be a good one.  Plus, Glee starts tonight, so (unless my DVR refuses to cooperate) I’ll be watching that, and probably singing “Don’t Stop Believin'” at the top of my lungs along with Lea Michele for the next few days.  My DVR had better cooperate, and that is all I’m going to say about that.

 

PS: Remy the Cat is doing just fine, thankfully, after suffering last week’s Incident.  Thanks to everyone who felt sorry for him and hoped he’d get better (for both his sake and the sake of my guilty conscience).

5 Responses to “So Many Posts Start With S.

  1. jenniferneri Wednesday / 9 September 09 at 7:56 pm #

    you crazy cat lady you. lol

    you’re married, right? It can’t apply to you then. You would have to be a spinster.
    (sorry, I am too tired to think straight. My beloved children are not sleeping lately. Back to school anxiety.)

    • owlandsparrow Wednesday / 9 September 09 at 8:29 pm #

      Haha, yes, I’m married…you’re right, I’m no spinster.

      Your kids started back to school today, right? Did you get the writing time you hoped for? If not, I guess there’s always tomorrow…and the rest of the school year! 🙂

  2. Merrilee Thursday / 10 September 09 at 6:10 am #

    Am I the only one hypersensitive to all the s’s after reading the opening to this post?

    Good news on the writing and the gym. Keep it up!

    • owlandsparrow Thursday / 10 September 09 at 9:20 am #

      No, Merrilee, you are not alone! I, at least, am hypersensitive along with you (even typing ‘hypersensitive’ made me cringe a little bit just now) and plan to do what I can to lower my S count…particularly in the titles, and in general unless I’m trying to make people hear snakes hissing in their heads.

      Thanks for your comment. You’re bold, by the way, and I like it. I feel for you having to take all those suggestions on how to tweak & “improve” your blurb (blurb, not synopsis, like you said). I’m impressed by your patience. 🙂 Hope to read the full story one day!

      • Merrilee Thursday / 10 September 09 at 9:12 pm #

        Thanks! It was a very educational exercise, and made it obvious that not everyone gets the same meaning from a phrase. I got a lot out of it.

Leave a Reply

