Spiderlegs

11 Oct

I don’t know too much about spiders.  I know I’m afraid of them, I know they spin webs, and I know they have eight legs.  Sometimes I wish I had eight legs.    

At the ghastly hour of 7am¹, I woke up this morning, mind reeling about my novel.  The past few days, I’ve been working on switching the order of events in the second quarter of my novel.  

It’s mind-boggling, people, mind-boggling, I tell you.  Worth it, yes.  Easy, no.  

The good thing is, I’m finding my cause-and-effect skills are turning out a more cohesive product than I thought.  So cohesive, in fact, that it’s been difficult to re-order the events I wrote due to everything building upon itself so seamlessly.  Changing the order of one scene means changing six more things around it, changing those six things affects a few others.

It’s difficult, but not impossible.  This is where the eight legs would come in handy.  I feel like I’m knitting a cable-knit sweater with gossamer spiderweb thread.  With only two hands, it’s hard to keep track of all the knits and purls and switching of stitches, all while devoting care to the delicate thread so it doesn’t tear.  It’s worth the time and effort, of course, because no one has a spiderweb-thread cable-knit sweater.

So, for the past week, I’ve planted myself at the table and surrounded myself with my manuscript, lattes, and homemade double-chocolate biscotti.  When I get stuck, I get more coffee, listen to a song or two from Glee², then plant myself at the table again and keep on crunching my brain.  When I leave, my head spins, and I’m exhilarated from all the new ideas I’ve had, and implemented, that strengthen the manuscript.  I enjoy my evening, then go back at it the next day.

I love writing.  It’s hard work, but I love it.  Heck, the challenge is part of the reason I love it.  

And, I’m glad to be able to connect with all of you writers out there as I do it.  I’ve learned a lot from you guys, too, from reading your blogs and having discussions in the comments.  If I could, I’d send you all some homemade double-chocolate biscotti and a latte.  Thanks for all your support.

  ♦

¹Okay, not so very ghastly after all.  I’ve seen much worse, like 4:30AM when I worked at Starbucks and 3:00AM when we were trying to catch our flight to Guatemala.  But for a Sunday morning, after I went to bed late?  A wee bit ghastly.

²My favorite of the moment is their cover of Queen’s “Somebody to Love.”  Love.  It.  When I say “a song or two,” it sometimes just means this one song repeated twice.  Just so you know.  You can watch the cast perform it live here.

6 Responses to “Spiderlegs”

  1. joyofdawn Sunday / 11 October 09 at 5:50 pm #

    I am glad you are having such fun writing! This past week has been a pleasant one for me as well. Writing is work and the challenge it brings is what keeps me going. I have to conquer it until it is finished, otherwise it bothers me and sticks in the back of my mind just waiting for me, almost taunting me. Seeing chapters become complete and knowing that I’ve conquered what seemed impossible, is… wonderful! (I think there must be a better word but it won’t come to me.)
    Spiders could get a lot done with eight legs. 🙂 Why I never thought about it but writing a story is kind of like working on a web. First I start with just a strand of thought and then come a hundred strands of ideas from all over the place. Eventually they all work together to that one center point which makes a complete story and a beautiful web. At least that is how I was just looking at it! 🙂

    • owlandsparrow Tuesday / 13 October 09 at 8:57 am #

      I’m so glad to hear you are diligently pressing forward with your writing! I totally agree with your analogy of working on a web. Things get so woven together they’re hard to move sometimes, or change. Beautiful when it’s done, though.

  2. Linda Monday / 12 October 09 at 1:29 pm #

    Perfect analogy … especially for nearing Halloween. I just printed out my ms again to check for dropped stitches after I did some reordering of old and insertion of new scenes.

    To all of us, may we weave stupendous story-webs!

    • owlandsparrow Tuesday / 13 October 09 at 9:01 am #

      You’re right, it is fitting for Halloween – wish I’d been clever enough to pick it for that reason, haha. I hope your ms check is going well! Mine’s nearly through, and then it’s back to writing the last half of the manuscript.

  3. uninvoked Monday / 12 October 09 at 8:17 pm #

    Maybe you’d rather be an octopus though. I’m thinking they’d be a bit more dexterous. Unless you’re gonna be a creepy eight handed spider? That’s scaaary.

    • owlandsparrow Tuesday / 13 October 09 at 8:52 am #

      Um, you totally left me laughing out loud here in public. At Starbucks. Where people can see, and hear me. Yeeeeah…I guess I’d rather be an octopus than a creepy eight-handed spider. You’re totally right. Creepy.

      Although, on second thought, with all the octopus ink defense-mechanism side-effects, I’m thinking my manuscript would end up illegible.

      Maybe I’ll stick to being human for now, haha. 😉

Leave a Reply

