Two Roads Diverged in a Wood…

2 Nov

Fear, n. | An unpleasant emotion caused by the belief that someone or something is dangerous, likely to cause pain, or a threat.

Deep down, I know I have to write the story¹.  At least, I know I can’t ditch it purely based on fear, or an emotional challenge.  You guys are right, and I thank each and every one of you who took the time to read my (very long) post and give such thoughtful feedback.  

Yesterday morning, I woke up on my own at 6:45am, ready to write.  What was I ready to write?  I still had no idea when I sat down at my laptop.  So, I listened, open to all possibilities, and just went with what I heard.  What I came up with stars the main character from the book I’ve been debating about, but already, she’s taking on a life of her own.  

Honestly?  I’m not sure if I’m writing the book I told you guys about, or a different one altogether.  There are two distinct directions I could head with this story, and I’m undecided at the moment.  Right now, I’m only 1639 words in, and it could work either way.  By the end of today, I hope to have boosted my word count in a huge way, and make a final decision.  

Even as I write this, I’m leaning toward taking the difficult path, mainly because the premise intrigues me so much.  I think the ideas I had for the more pleasant path could mesh well with what I have and form some nice, complicated layers to the already complicated plot.

Oh, by the way, it looks like Mr. Cat may go to Mars, after all.  My sweet husband, after some serious hesitation, gave in and wrote several hundred words yesterday, starting with what was pretty much only a joke about our cat.  He doesn’t normally do this kind of stuff – he’s extremely smart and creative, but hasn’t dabbled too much in writing.  I heard his first few paragraphs, you guys, and they are SO GOOD.

Thanks again for all your wisdom, everyone.  Happy writing/NaNo-ing/NaHoCleMo-ing to you all!  (Wanna get in on NaHoCleMo?  Click here to read about Linda’s great idea!)

NaNoMeter:  1,639 down | 48,361 to go

¹If you have no idea what I’m talking about, click here.

 

7 Responses to “Two Roads Diverged in a Wood…”

  1. islesam Monday / 2 November 09 at 12:40 pm #

    He’s joining in, too? That’s wonderful! My boyfriend isn’t – this isn’t his sort of thing – but the wonderful man listens to my plot line woes & offers his two cents wherever he deems fit. Not that they are ever particularly GOOD… or serious… but he’s trying. & it’s adorably sweet.

    Having a writing buddy in the house must make it that much more fun for NaNoWriMo! Good luck to you both!

    • owlandsparrow Friday / 6 November 09 at 8:58 am #

      Well…he hasn’t written any more about it, so I’m thinking technically I should probably not have encouraged him to sign up for NaNo. It’s still a great story, though, and well-written so far – I’m going to continue to encourage him to write it when he has free hours here and there.

  2. jenniferneri Monday / 2 November 09 at 1:13 pm #

    Just write, stop thinking about it. What will come will be your novel, and I am certain it will great whatever way it goes.
    Funny, I just posted about writing from intuition…

    • owlandsparrow Friday / 6 November 09 at 9:03 am #

      Jennifer! I don’t think I ever commented on your intuition post (I’ve been meaning to, for sure) but I loved it, and even linked to it in my next post. Your words made me feel the freedom I should feel when writing to just listen to my characters and write scenes from intuition. Thanks so much for commenting, and for writing such a great post to learn from! 🙂

  3. J.C Monday / 2 November 09 at 2:33 pm #

    It sounds like you’re doing the right thing for you, which is wonderful, I’m looking forward to hearing how your story develops!

  4. Merrilee Monday / 2 November 09 at 7:07 pm #

    Good for you! Go hard 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Iron Sharpens Iron « Owl and Sparrow - Tuesday / 3 November 09

    […] the less-traveled road, like I told you yesterday I thought I might.  In one of the comments on yesterday’s post, Jennifer Neri wrote: Just write, stop thinking about it.  What will come will be your novel, and […]

Leave a Reply

