Iron Sharpens Iron

3 Nov

Looks like I’m going for the less-traveled road, like I told you yesterday I thought I might.  In one of the comments on yesterday’s post, Jennifer Neri wrote:

Just write, stop thinking about it.  What will come will be your novel, and I am certain it will be great whatever way it goes.

(She also mentions her recent post about writing from intuition, which is excellent, and you should check it out here.)

Jennifer’s advice is so true, and so very helpful.  I shouldn’t lock myself into must-write-this mode – I should listen to the story, listen to the characters, and not just force them to squeeze into my little idea box I’ve molded for them.  Though it’s looking like my story is headed toward the direction I initially planned, the shape of its characters and story details are coming together in a totally unexpected way.  I didn’t expect to like these characters so much, honestly.

On a different-yet-related note, my NaNo friends are kicking butt and taking names.  They’re rocking so hard on this challenge it makes me feel inspired to do so much more than I already have.  I’ve met the Day 1 and Day 2 minimum word counts, and I’ve got a few hundred more to go before I meet Day 3’s expectation.  Though I’m blowing my personal levels of recent productivity out of the water, I’m so inspired to keep going because of all the committed people around me.  Shout-outs to my NaNo buddies:  J.C. Hart (6,262), Melissa (4,614), Joy of Dawn (3,230), Katherine (5,052), Brigid (6,842), and Nicole (6,444)!   

Well, the day is hardly over – it’s only 11 AM here – but today is looking to be another busy one, even without the writing.  I’ve got cleaning, cooking, and shopping to do, since we’re having friends over for dinner – we’re hanging out for the series premier of V, a new show starring Lost‘s Elizabeth Mitchell.  I should probably get to the gym, too, if I want to keep fitting into all the cute skirts I bought last week.

Thanks for being iron to me, you guys.  I’m sharper because of all of you.

NaNoMeter:  4,457 down | 45,543 to go

4 Responses to “Iron Sharpens Iron”

  1. J.C Tuesday / 3 November 09 at 2:43 pm #

    Thanks for the shout out! You are doing so well, it’s great to hear how your story is evolving!
    Oh and thanks for the link to V, now I have to wonder whether we’ll ever get it over here and how long it will take if we do!

    • owlandsparrow Monday / 9 November 09 at 5:25 pm #

      Oh, I hope you get V over there at some point! It’s on ABC, I’m not sure if you guys are able to watch it online or not…And, you’re welcome for the shout-out! Thanks for being inspirational! 😉

  2. jenniferneri Friday / 6 November 09 at 10:41 am #

    Hi!! I too have been meaning to come by and read this post! I have had a week filled with so many non-writing things I haven’t even been able to get to my computer until this morning – with both kids yammering in my ear at the moment I must add!!

    It’s wonderful how much blogging can add! We inspire each other – thank you!!
    Good writing for Nano!

    • owlandsparrow Monday / 9 November 09 at 5:26 pm #

      Thanks for taking time to read in the midst of all the craziness going on. I’m about to go read your newest post right now! Hope all is well with you and your family. 🙂 Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

