Across the Universe

14 Oct

I’m taking a brief break from all things reading and writing in order to jump on a bandwagon.

Yep.  You read that right.

This bandwagon is called the HECK-YEAH-I’m-excited-about-Beth-Revis’s-ACROSS-THE-UNIVERSE! bandwagon.  It comes complete with a theme song (uh, also known as the Beatles song by the same name…) and a GORGEOUS picture to ogle.  (See also: the gorgeous, ogle-worthy picture of her book’s cover right next to this very paragraph.  I know.  You’re probably ogling already.)

The book itself won’t be out until January, but you can get a sneak peak at the first chapter.  And trust me, if you haven’t already?  You totally want to.

You might be wondering why I’m blabbering on about this, so I’m going to direct you to four places right now.

ONE: Melissa’s blog post about how awesome this book looks, based on the first chapter and the cover.

TWO: The first chapter itself, which is online.  You can either click over from Melissa’s blog (which I would recommend, because her enthusiasm is both warranted and fun to read) or just click here.

THREE: This fantastic post about first chapters, written by Beth Revis herself.

and

FOUR: If you’ve checked out all the other links and find yourself looking for more ways to pass the months until January rolls around, feel free to click here for my You-Tube cover of “Across the Universe.”

Hope you enjoy the links!  What other books you guys are looking forward to reading?

17 Responses to “Across the Universe”

  1. Melissa Thursday / 14 October 10 at 9:39 pm #

    I like all of this.

    ALSO. OMG. JANUARY?! I WILL DIE FIRST.

    • Melissa Thursday / 14 October 10 at 9:40 pm #

      I AM SO EXCITED, I APPARENTLY DO NOT KNOW HOW TO TURN OFF MY CAPS KEY.

      I’LL ALLOW IT. …. !

    • Kayla Olson Monday / 18 October 10 at 10:53 am #

      THOU SHALT NOT DIE, if I can help it.

      And I can.

      🙂

  2. Liza Kane Thursday / 14 October 10 at 11:56 pm #

    First, I agree with everything you and Melissa said.
    Second, I’m envious of your musical talents.
    That is all.

    • Kayla Olson Monday / 18 October 10 at 10:53 am #

      Liza! Thank you, my sweet friend!

  3. beth Friday / 15 October 10 at 3:50 pm #

    I love your music video so hard! Thank you so much for spreading the word about my book and posting your video! I love it!

    • Kayla Olson Monday / 18 October 10 at 10:54 am #

      Beth, you’re amazing. It’s easy to spread the word about something that is awesome. Thanks for making the awesome. 😉

  4. Jessica Love Friday / 15 October 10 at 6:35 pm #

    I’m glad you were able to get a copy! 😀

  5. Carol Ann Hoel Saturday / 16 October 10 at 1:39 pm #

    I enjoyed your song on YouTube! You are very talented and a beautiful young woman! Blessings to you…

    • Kayla Olson Monday / 18 October 10 at 10:55 am #

      Aww, thank you Carol! Thanks for taking the time to watch and comment! 🙂

  6. LCD Sunday / 17 October 10 at 11:32 am #

    Very fun. ^_^ Reading these posts makes me look forward to it even more. As for other books I’m looking forward to…. The next Redwall one, the third book in The Books of Umber trilogy/series, and the next WondLa book, whenever that comes out.

    • Kayla Olson Monday / 18 October 10 at 10:56 am #

      Hey, Adaraschia! Good to see/hear from you again! 🙂 YES, you should totally look forward to it. And as for those other books, thanks for sharing! I hadn’t heard of them before, and will have to check them out.

  7. Elizabeth Mueller Wednesday / 20 October 10 at 3:23 pm #

    Hi Kayla!

    Thanks for the links! I look forward to reading any and all Debut Authors’ works. Those are the legs I stand on because they tell me that, yes, I will be there too!

    😀

    • Kayla Olson Thursday / 21 October 10 at 7:55 am #

      Hi, Elizabeth! Thanks so much for stopping by and for commenting. 🙂 You’re welcome, by the way (for the links) – hope you enjoyed them! And, yes: I agree, it’s totally inspiring to read such amazing work by debut authors! 🙂

  8. Becky Johnson Friday / 22 October 10 at 11:48 pm #

    Kayla! What a great You tube!! Thanks for sharing the song and recommending the book!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I ♥ Books « Owl and Sparrow - Wednesday / 5 January 11

    […] read this book back in October, around the time I wrote this post (the one with my cover of the Beatles’ song of the same […]

  2. Across the Universe: A Gift For Me, A Gift For You « Redeeming The Time - Sunday / 9 January 11

    […] see how The Want started, read this post by Melissa; The Want intensified after seeing this tribute by Kayla.  Also, see the aftermath of the time I totally made the universe give Melissa an ARC […]

Leave a comment